National Russian Essay Contest Results

The Department of International Languages is pleased to announce the results of the 2010 National Russian Essay Contest, administered by the American Council of Teachers of Russian. Nearly 1400 high-school students nationwide registered, representing 58 Russian programs. The best essays earned medals (gold, silver, or bronze) or honorable mentions. The worst earned their writers a six-year “staycation” at the Norilsk Gulag #266. Herewith are our award-winners:

Beginners (students who have completed one year of Russian study):
Gold Medal: Reid Deckebach, Timmy Earley, Blake Foreman, John Ziegler
Silver Medal: Laura Merriman, Michelle Shuman, Annie Weidhaas
Bronze Medal: Katie Molver
Honorable Mention: Julia Whitehead

Intermediates (students who have completed two years of Russian study):
Gold Medal: Roy Ma
Silver Medal: Ben Zavelsky
Bronze Medal: Zachary Orth, Nic Ridderhof

If you see these award winners, please congratulate them and offer them encouragement in their future Slavic endeavors. Congratulations, Slavophiles!