We the People Team Triumphs at States … AGAIN!

With twelve high school teams participating in the 2012 Virginia We the People High School State Finals last week, the competition was spirited!  The Thomas Jefferson Sci. Tech and Douglas Freeman Leadership teams each hoped to thwart Maggie Walker’s quest for a fifteenth straight state win.
MLWGS Team XV, coached for the fourth year by Mr. Matt McGuire, made sure that did not occur. In two rounds held Friday Feb. 10th at the U.S. Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals, the six units of the MLWGS team garnered a total of 2,043 points, out of a possible 2,160, to handily capture the Virginia state title. Freeman's Team Pinkney took second place, TJ Sci Tech placed third, Caroline County placed fourth, and Freeman's Team Burr was awarded fifth place.

While MLWGS triumphed again, continuing the Governor’s School dominance at WTP states, there was a new twist for this year's MLWGS team. For the first time juniors joined the traditionally all senior team.
We the People team members spend months intensely studying a broad range of topics related to American government and constitutionalism. They prepare for competitions with rounds of simulated congressional hearings, during which expert judges pose questions and score units based on knowledge and articulation. The Virginia competition is administered by the Center for the Constitution at James Madison’s Montpelier.  The national level competition is run by the Center for Civic Education.
Congratulations to Mr. McGuire and the entire Team XV of We the People State Champions, pictured below, who will proudly represent Maggie Walker and Virginia at the national WTP competition in Washington, D.C., April 28th - 30th.

MLWGS Team XV Wins 2012 Virginia's We the People Competition 
(photo courtesy of Zhen Zhong)
Unit One:
Tyler Garrett(’12), Selena Kitchens(’13), Siobhan Rigby(’12), Andrea Yeh(’12)  

Unit Two:
Eric Ott (‘12), Matt Ruskan(’13), Sameer Sarkar(’12), Annie Valentine(’13),  Johnny Mac Yates(’13)   
Unit Three:
Caitlin Lane(’12), Kathryn Marqueen(’12), Justin Shawler(’12), Melody Wang(’12)   
Unit Four:
Marc Petrine(’13), Eileen Wang(’12), Gray Whisnant(’13), Jesse Zhao(’12)  

Unit Five:
Ian Baxter(’12), John Darr(’13), Abigail Simon(’13), Darice Xue(’12)   
Unit Six:
Dylan Fauss(’12), Stephen Roach(’12), Martin Slag(’12), Arthur Wu(’12)   

Kudos also go to Unit Two for their special recognition as the WTP Unit Winner for the MLWGS team.