MLWGS Soars at "We the People" Nationals

We The People Team XV after Top Ten Round on Capitol Hill

Maggie Walker represented Virginia at the We the People: The Citizen & The Constitution National Finals held in Washington, DC this past weekend.  After two days of competition, Virginia was one of ten teams to advance to the final third round of the National Championship held on Capitol Hill, yesterday, Monday, April 30th.  

Final standings were announced late Monday night. Following three rounds of rigorous competition against 55 state and territorial champion teams, encompassing in depth presentations and intensive Q&A, the MLWGS We the People Team XV was thrilled to be a top finisher in this venerable contest of constitutional scholarship, knowledge, and application.

Led by Maggie Walker social studies teacher,
Matt McGuire, the talented team of 17 seniors  and 8 juniors proudly claimed the medal for 2nd in the nation.

Congratulations to: Ian Baxter(’12), John Darr(’13), Dylan Fauss(’12), Tyler Garrett(’12), Selena Kitchens(’13), Caitlin Lane(’12), Kathryn Marqueen(’12), Eric Ott(’12), Marc Petrine(’13), Siobhan Rigby(’12), Stephen Roach(’12), Matt Ruskan(’13), Sameer Sarkar(’12), Justin Shawler(’12), Abigail Simon(’13), Martin Slag(’12), Annie Valentine(’13), Eileen Wang(’12), Melody Wang(’12), Gray Whisnant(’13), Arthur Wu(’12), Darice Xue(’12), Johnny Mac Yates(’13), Andrea Yeh(’12), Jesse Zhao('12).

"We the People" team members study a broad range of topics related to American government and constitutionalism and prepare for a simulated congressional hearing, during which judges ask questions and score units based on knowledge and articulation. The academic competition marked the end of months of study and hard-won victories at the congressional district and state levels.  For more information visit
MLWGS has competed in We the People for fifteen years, has won the state title fifteen times, and has been a national top ten team each of the last fourteen years.

Kudos to our MLWGS Dragons