Juniors Honored with Special Awards

Congratulations to the eighteen junior students listed below who were presented with "Book Awards" during the 2012 Junior Awards Assembly held at MLWGS last Friday, June 8th.

Also recognized during the Junior and Senior Awards Assemblies were the 25 members of the "Team XV" We the People Team for placing Second in the Nation at the fiercely contested National WTP Competition held April 27-30 2012 at George Mason University and on Capitol Hill. For the first time in over ten years the MLWGS team was composed of junior students(8) as well as senior students (17). The team was led by MLWGS Social Studies teacher Mr. Matt McGuire.

2012 Junior Book Award Recipients

Book Award
Junior Student
West Point Leadership

Johnny Mac Yates
Jeff Duncan
Dartmouth College

Megan Morris
Jeff Green
Bausch & Lomb University of Rochester Science Award

Eison DeGuzman
Michele Surat
Salem College

Rachel Galton
John Wilkes

Natalie Lohr
Ainslie McLees
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Robert Jones
Harold Houghton
Xerox Award for Innovation and Technology

Saumil Bandyopadhyay
Harold Houghton
Harvard University

Christine Gao
Wendy DeGroat
William and Mary

John Ziegler
Denise Yagel
University of Rochester F. Douglass and SB Anthony Award

Bobby Bohnke
Max Smith
Randolph College

Gray Whisnant
Matt McGuire
VCU Monroe’s Scholar

Kia Jordan
Connie Hill
  Smith College

Natalie Bruno
Connie Hill
George Eastman Young Leaders Award

Rohan Pidaparti
Jennifer Todd
University of Virginia

Andrew Tynes
Jennifer Todd
Randolph College Classics Award 

Selena Kitchens
Cliff Broeniman
Virginia Museum of Fine Art Award
Alexa Buchin and Lucy Dacus
Georgianne Stinnett