Advisory Council Seeks Input on School Issues

A small council assembles each new school year to deliberate about the state of Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School, asking what could be done to further the mission of the school. The Council is made of elected representatives of the faculty, student body, PTSA, administration and special appointments of the Director.

In the past eighteen months, topics discussed have included international educational trips for MLWGS students, the good and bad elements of the Community Service Graduation Requirement, social and academic support for members of each freshmen class, issues with parking on the MLWGS campus, and whether or how to elevate the elements of leadership for students during the years they attend MLWGS.

The mission of the School Advisory Council is to serve in an advisory capacity to enhance the quality of education and to promote a broad-based curriculum, to support the effective components of the existing programs and to ensure that the MLWGS mission is achieved. The Council stands ready to consider topics of interest to the entire MLWGS community. If you have noticed an element concerning MLWGS which could be improved, the Council would like to receive your input. Please contact Richard Bland with suggestions.

These volunteers currently serve on the School Advisory Council:  John Barnes (faculty), Harold Houghton (faculty), Anna Shore (faculty), Sharon Parker (faculty), Kate Baumann, Class of 2013; Anne Carter Bland (Richmond '14); Will Greer (Richmond '14); Julia Kuno (Chesterfield '13); Director Jeff McGee, Wendy Ellis, Coordinator of Instruction; Council Chair Richard Bland (parent), Julie May (parent), Saskia Turpijn (parent), Lin Tynes (parent), and Planning Committee Representative Patty Cover, the Gifted Coordinator of Chesterfield County Schools.