Academic Bowl Team Competes in Maryland

Pictured are coaches Dr. Barnes, Ms. Lasswell, and
Mr Sidarth; current players Erik Akbar (Chesterfield '16),
Saumil Bandyopadhyay, Jordan Bekenstein, Vasa Clarke,
Seung Hwan Kim, Joseph Kump (Chesterfield '15),
Robert Morris (Chesterfield '16), Will Overman (Hanover '16),
Mikey Valacer, Jr. (Hanover '13), Connor Wood, and
Kevin Yuan; and former Maggie Walker team members
Sarah Angelo (Henrico '11), JR Roach (Chesterfield '11),
and Stephen Roach (Chesterfield '12).
On Friday, June 7, eight members of the MLWGS Academic Quiz Bowl team left for the 2013 PACE NSC, the Partnership for Academic Competition Excellence National Scholastics Championship. PACE was held June 8 and 9 on the campus of the University of Maryland in College Park.

Two teams competed - the A team comprised of Saumil Bandyopadhyay (Henrico '13), Jordan Bekenstein (Henrico '13), Seung Hwan Kim (Henrico '13), and Connor Wood (Henrico '15); and B team of Vasa Clarke (Henrico '14), Robert Jones (Chesterfield '13), Raleigh Matteo (Henrico '13), and Kevin Yuan (Henrico '14).

The Academic Quiz Bowl team (or BoB for Battle of the Brains) participates throughout the school year in local, regional, state, and national quiz bowl competitions in addition to the state and national history bowl.

The team welcomes new members for 2013-2014. For incoming freshmen who enjoy Jeopardy or who have participated in Knowledge Masters in middle school, BoB is a great fit. Practice will resume in September in Room 316 weekdays during lunch.