MLWGS Foundation Congratulates We the People

The team from the Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School has placed third in the nation in the We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution National Finals, which recently took place in Washington, DC.

Social Studies teacher and Maggie Walker alumnus Sam Ulmschneider ’02 coached the team of seniors that included: Emily Abbey (Chesterfield), Samuel Akers (Henrico), Christopher Benos (Chesterfield), George Booth Jr. (Richmond), Gowri Buddiga (Henrico), Bailey Hall (Hanover), Aateeb Khan (Chesterfield), Matthew King (Henrico), Hannah Lyons (Richmond), Katherine Monks (Chesterfield), Michael Morris (Chesterfield), Ryan Oppenheim (Chesterfield), Claire Panak (Henrico), Kent Rollins (Chesterfield), Yash Tekriwal (Henrico), Shweta Tembe (Henrico), Heather Thompson (Hanover), Elizabeth Wolfe (Henrico), and Kevin Yuan (Henrico). The Governor's School Foundation is proud to have provided financial support for the team through its Enhancement Grant program.

So far this year, the Foundation's Annual Fund Campaign has raised $312,728 for the school. Overall current parent participation is 67%, and here is the parent participation by class:

• Seniors: 71%
• Juniors: 64%
• Sophomores: 61%
• Freshmen: 63%

The Governor’s School Foundation’s Annual Fund Campaign supports programs for students, grants for teacher continuing education, and special projects for facilities and equipment. To donate online, please click here.